You are here

Angelo Bissessarsingh

Sunday, October 13, 2013
In the last two episodes of Back in Times we looked at how Trinidad played a pivotal role in the Venezuelan War of Independence even after the island severed ties with Spain as it became a British col
Sunday, October 6, 2013
Almost every schoolchild in Venezuela, the Bolivarian Republic, according to the late president Hugo Chavez, is schooled in the lore of the revolution in the early 19th century known as the Venezuela
Sunday, September 29, 2013
Recently, Energy Minister Senator Kevin Ramnarine signed a historic treaty which would see a partnered development of certain hydrocarbon resources that are shared by both nations.
Sunday, September 22, 2013
Whaling, the bloody pursuit of the leviathan is something more often associated with Nantucket and the novel Moby Dick—strong men plunging deadly harpoons into the side of a massive humpback or sperm
Sunday, September 15, 2013
When the British armed forces under Admiral Ralph Abercromby seized Trinidad from Spain in 1797 it inherited a very weak defence and communications network.
Sunday, September 8, 2013
The first automobile in T&T rolled ashore in 1900—a Locomobile Runabout, which was basically a two-seat horseless carriage powered by a small steam engine.
Sunday, September 1, 2013
Until the Port-of-Spain harbour was reclaimed in the 1930s, the sea approach was very shallow, necessitating the landing of passengers and goods at a wooden jetty called St Vincent Wharf because it ra
Sunday, August 25, 2013
Woodbrook is best known today as being the liming capital of the island.
Sunday, August 18, 2013
In parts of Trinidad, there are places with the names Indian Trail or Indian Walk. These have nothing to do with Indo-Trinidadians but with the first peoples of the nation.
Sunday, August 11, 2013
As hard as it may be to believe, even the party-hardened islanders of Trinidad need to take a break from life in a tropical paradise.

Pages