You are here

Angelo Bissessarsingh

Sunday, August 4, 2013
In the starchy and very classist colonial atmosphere of British Trinidad there were few social events more envied than to be invited to a ball at the Governor’s House.
Sunday, July 28, 2013
Tobago is unique among the former British West Indian colonies in that much of its West African heritage survived the obliterating effects of slavery and existed in vibrant tradition long into the pre
Sunday, July 21, 2013
Tobago is a bit different from Trinidad, in that its slaves had no significant French heritage and thus were subjected to the brutalities of British plantocracy.
Sunday, July 14, 2013
Many types of speculation have long been rife as to the conditions of slavery in T&T.
Sunday, June 30, 2013
My grandmother Theresa tells a story of an incident that really happened over 70 years ago in a forest a couple hundred feet from where we live.
Sunday, June 23, 2013
Last week we began looking at the story of how Major Randolph Rust, a former merchant, fought enormous obstacles and in partnership with Chinese businessman John Lee Lum, drilled the first commerciall
Sunday, June 16, 2013
In a recent conversation with the Minister of Energy, Senator Kevin Ramnarine (himself an accomplished historian), we came to the realisation that little is known about our oil pioneers, to whom we ow
Sunday, June 9, 2013
Even before chattel slavery ended in 1834, a skilled cook was a must for every household of substance in Trinidad.
Sunday, June 2, 2013
From the 1840s until well into the 1950s, the sugar holdings of Wm Tennant and Co were formidable. The greater part of their estates was in the Naparimas.
Sunday, May 26, 2013
William Clayton Ross established his well known Colonial Dispensary, at the corner of Queen and Frederick Streets, Port-of-Spain, around 1846.

Pages