You are here

Angelo Bissessarsingh

Wednesday, May 22, 2013
In 1845, indentured labour from India began arriving in Trinidad primarily as labour for the sugar plantations which were the mainstay of the economy.
Sunday, May 19, 2013
Even though cremation of the dead is prescribed for orthodox Hindus, the practice was illegal in Trinidad until the 1930s.
Wednesday, May 15, 2013
Emancipation in 1834 and the understandable reluctance of former slaves to return to a new form of bondage on the sugar plantations of Trinidad, left a massive labour void which subsequent immigration
Sunday, May 12, 2013
Child marriages and betrothals originated in the pre-Mughal era of Indian history as a means of creating a tangible bond between two families.
Sunday, May 5, 2013
Generations of Trinidadians remember the Red Bridge which spanned the Southern Main Road at Plaisance Park between Pointe-a-Pierre and Claxton Bay.
Sunday, April 28, 2013
People know Laventille today for the negative stigma of crime.
Sunday, April 21, 2013
From being the sport of English gentry, cricket and the West Indies are synonymous. This is even more so in Trinidad as this is the home of the greatest batsman ever, Brian Charles Lara.
Sunday, April 14, 2013
Like any bustling commercial city, Port-of-Spain in the 19th century needed round-the-town transport, but this was limited to horse-drawn cabs, which were costly and thus out of the reach of the avera
Sunday, April 7, 2013
“Poisson frais, poisson, poisson ..fressh feesh!” This would be the chant of the fish vendor while the mists still lay on the green hills overlooking the Port-of-Spain of the 19th and early 20th centu
Sunday, March 31, 2013
Although Trinidad became a British colony in 1797, the Church of England made little headway in the largely French and Spanish Roman Catholic island until 1844 when an aggressive expansion in the Angl

Pages