You are here

Ira Mathur

Sunday, August 2, 2015
​In 1990, when the Jamaat al Muslimeen first terrorised the population with an attempted coup, people called one another on the phone to find out the news.
Sunday, July 26, 2015
I remember, Ishmael, how we raced bark jockeys down rain-swollen St James canals, the Western Main Road our open free range, all the hot, bright mornings of our boy years.
Sunday, July 19, 2015
Some weeks back, I wrote glowingly about the NHS care I received in London for a debilitating migraine, excruciating pain and dehydration.
Sunday, July 12, 2015
​Leon Trostsky once reportedly told CLR James (and if you don’t know who he is, look him up) we ought to have streets and statues named after James, so vital was he to who we are today that spectator
Sunday, July 5, 2015
​Loneliness does not come from having no people about one, but from being unable to communicate the things that seem important to oneself, or from holding certain views which others find inadmissible.
Sunday, June 28, 2015
Sunday, June 21, 2015
It began with a strain on my neck. I took a break from the keyboards, looked outside. The London light was dim but too bright for me.
Sunday, June 14, 2015
​He said: “Good evening, Trinidad and Tobago. “Sorry for interrupting your regular programming which is, as I understand it, Mike and Molly starring Melissa McCarthy and a man.”
Sunday, June 7, 2015
​Before we swoop down like corbeaux to pick at the carcass of the reputation of Jack Warner with the hypocrisy of the self righteous (as we do—oh how we love a lynching.
Sunday, May 24, 2015
​I came across a meme that read: “Politicians and diapers need to be changed for the same reason.” It brought on smiley faces and chuckles, but beneath that is a huge sense of impotence.

Pages