You are here

Ira Mathur

Sunday, March 8, 2015
​The facts: in 2012 a young woman was gang raped on a moving bus in New Delhi. Six men were accused of her murder.
Sunday, March 1, 2015
The clues are being dropped for us like breadcrumbs every day all the time. A visitor speaks of the beauty of the country but wonders why the service is so “sullen” or as we would say, “sour.”
Sunday, February 22, 2015
​My daughter who came to visit me in London from university in another part of the UK was on the phone to her father. “It’s not good for Mummy to live on her own.
Sunday, February 15, 2015
At a time when a briefest of snowfalls had already melted giving way to an unending damp that penetrated multiple layers of down, wool, cotton and leather, and given me the depressing look of a perman
Sunday, February 8, 2015
​Trust the silver fox—former prime minister Basdeo Panday (and how we must treasure his wit and breadth of knowledge in this age of politicians who don’t read, and certainly not Shakespeare) to put th
Sunday, February 1, 2015
​Every day for two weeks, a woman in a Lahore museum sits with her back against a wall of roses from morning to evening allowing a slow drip of paint to cover her like blood.
Sunday, January 25, 2015
​What would happen if the Prime Minister came on national television and announced the following?
Sunday, January 18, 2015
BURNING SPEAR: “Understand, warriors do not bend their knees before victors in battle. N
Sunday, January 11, 2015
​Sometimes I think journalists talk too much. We have an opinion on everything. In the process of reporting, we eventually know a little about a lot of stuff.
Sunday, January 4, 2015
Now that we have quietened after the festivities and the daily grind has begun, we look away from the empty wine bottles and the Christmas tree which gathers melancholy by the day (as if aware of its

Pages