You are here

Marc De Verteuil

Monday, June 29, 2015
​For the first time ever a state has been held liable for failing to curb climate change causing greenhouse gas emissions.
Monday, June 22, 2015
​“The earth, our home, is beginning to look more and more like an immense pile of filth. In many parts of the planet, the elderly lament that once beautiful landscapes are now covered with rubbish.”
Monday, June 8, 2015
​Is there any hope for humans to rein themselves in and stop incinerating the world’s climate in a puff of greenhouse gas emissions?
Monday, June 1, 2015
​There is now a fine of $100,000 and two years imprisonment if you are caught driving on Las Cuevas beach (or any other beach) and you harm turtles, according to the Environmental Management Authority
Monday, May 25, 2015
​More than one in ten leatherback turtles that nest in Trinidad dies here, according to Dr Scott Eckert of Wider Caribbean Sea Turtle Conservation Network (WIDECAST).
Monday, May 18, 2015
Grandad switches off the ignition. We are trapped in standstill traffic on the Princess Margaret Highway. It must be around 1980. The car is a Renault 12.
Monday, May 11, 2015
​The Caribbean Sea collides with the shore. Each wave gives a last shout of surprised agony as it too comprehends that there is an finality to the sea’s endlessness.
Monday, May 4, 2015
​I have sat on the fence about this subject for too long: genetically modified organisms aka GMOs. It is time to come clean. I declare that I cannot find any reason to brand GMOs a threat.
Monday, April 27, 2015
​All my life the Orinoco River has fascinated me. Growing up in Trinidad the river was always felt, never seen.
Monday, April 20, 2015
​Dutch citizens sue their government for failing to reduce carbon emission within targets set by the International Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) to avoid global temperatures rising by more than 2C.

Pages