You are here

Ray Funk

Thursday, February 8, 2018
At the Small Steelband Pan Finals at Skinner Park, San Fernando, this evening, Fusion Steel will perform Dike Samai’s arrangement of Out of the Box from 2015 composed by Mark Loquan and Seion Gomez.
Wednesday, February 7, 2018
Back home in Trinidad for a month from Japan, Michael “Manish” Robinson is busy making pans, playing pan and bringing several students from the Land of the Rising Sun to play our national instrument.
Tuesday, February 6, 2018
Gregory Boyd is one of a handful of experienced pannists in Denmark and the only thing more unique than this fact is the unconventional road he took to a career playing T&T’s national instrument i
Saturday, February 3, 2018
After growing up in San Fernando, playing with Fonclaire and touring Europe with Skiffle, Wade Austin has become a highly regarded pan player and teacher in London.
Thursday, January 25, 2018
The Mighty Jamma is looking forward to coming to Trinidad for Carnival at the end of January.
Wednesday, January 24, 2018
Nashville, Tennessee, like much of America’s heartland, is ruled by college football and country music.
Saturday, January 6, 2018
For almost 20 years, Maestro Billy Overton has made playing pan a central part of his ministry, playing in his church and other churches all over the Gulf South region of Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas an
Wednesday, January 3, 2018
While the steelpan can be heard on Star Wars: The Last Jedi, there has been pan in the movies for decades. One of its earliest appearances is an animated cartoon short, Calypso Cat.
Monday, January 1, 2018
No jazz artist has done more to incorporate calypso material into their work than saxophone legend Sonny Rollins.
Wednesday, December 27, 2017
Issued earlier this year and appearing on some “best of 2017” jazz record lists, Jaco Pastorius Word of Mouth Big Band, Truth Liberty & Soul (Resonance Records) is a two CD set that is treasure.