You are here

Police triumps in Mayaro

Sunday, April 22, 2018
Sharing in the moment was coach and former national player, Matthew Pierre, left, with players from his Academy (MPBA) who won the Under-21 Division and came second in the Community A Division of the BPTT Mayaro Basketball League, collecting many individual accolades along the way.

With last year's BPTT Mayaro Basketball League ending in an exciting climax in December, the valiant players of the T&T Police Service (TTPS) were officially recognised as champion of the Community B Division following a prize-giving ceremony hosted at the Mayaro Indoor Sporting Facility recently.

In the thrilling final fixtures of the league, TTPS defeated Rio Ballers in Community B while Resurrection Life Revival Assembly (RLRA) Ambassadors narrowly edged out the Matthew Pierre Basketball Academy (MPBA) to take top place in Community A Division. The impressive MPBA team were also victorious in the Under-21 Division.

Police captain Don Wilkinson was high in praise for the community league.

He said, "This league is an excellent one which has given us really good exposure and we are proud to have beaten really strong teams to emerge as champions. It is especially good as a developmental league because it is getting young players involved, which is needed for the rejuvenation of the sport at a national level.

"There are top teams from across the nation playing here and Mayaro has really set a standard for other communities to emulate and get involved in reviving basketball across T&T."

The Mayaro League is sponsored by energy company BPTT and has been administered for the past five years by the South Corner Basketball Foundation (SCBF). South Corner was ably supported by the All-Mayaro Sports Foundation (AMSF), which has been charged by BPTT with the administration and organisation of sporting development in the south-eastern community.

The league features an U-21 Division, the Community A Division for local teams to compete and the Community B Division, which is open to teams across the nation that wish to compete at the highest levels.

The ceremony marked an especially meaningful moment for former national basketball player and BPTT’s Community Liaison Officer, Matthew Pierre.

“For many years now BPTT has sponsored sporting development in this community in addition to contributing to education, enterprise development, arts and culture and the environment. The purpose of community leagues like this is to unearth, develop and showcase young talent.

"We strongly believe that the only way to build on the past accomplishments is to invest in the future as represented by young people. Sport is a viable option to solve many of the social problems facing our nation and the performance of the youth players here is proof that young people will excel when given a platform to perform," Pierre said.

Having guided the young, talented players of the MPBA in their maiden season, Pierre was presented with the trophy for "Coach of the Season". His players exceeded their own expectations and received most of the individual accolades in the U-21 and Community A Divisions.

Taking the prize for "Most Valuable Player" (MVP) in the U-21 Division as well as "Best Centre" in the U-21 and Community A Divisions was MPBA player, Daniel Hagley.


Champions: Police
Runners-Up: Rio Ballers
Third Place: Grande All Stars
Most Valuable Player:
Christopher Lares (Rio Ballers)
Most Points: Christopher Lares
(Rio Ballers) – 110 Points
Most Three-Pointers: Nathan Lewis
(Rio Ballers) – 25 Three-Pointers
Best Guard: Wesley Vincent (TTPS)
Best Forward:
Mikahial Williams (‘D’ Hill)
Best Centre: Christopher Lares
(Rio Ballers)
Champions: Resurrection Life
Revival Assembly (RLRA) Ambassadors
Runners-Up: Matthew Pierre
Basketball Academy (MPBA)
Third Place: Mafeking Youths
Most Valuable Player:
Keion Powtan (RLRA Ambassadors)
Most Points: Daniel Hagley
(MPBA) – 111 Points
Most Three-Pointers:
Arnold Cooper (Mafeking Youths)
– 15 Three-Pointers
Best Guard:
Franklyn Williams (MPBA)
Best Forward: Keion Powtan
(RLRA Ambassadors)
Best Centre: Daniel Hagley (MPBA)
Champions: Matthew Pierre
Basketball Academy (MPBA)
Runners-Up: Libertville Villas
Third Place: Grade Young Stars
Most Valuable Player:
Daniel Hagley (MPBA)
Most Points: Hakeem Morgan
(Laventille Hawks)
Most Three-Pointers:
Hakeem Morgan (Laventille Hawks) –
11 Three-Pointers
Best Guard:
Franklyn Williams (MPBA)
Best Forward: Amrit Singh
(Libertville Villas)
Best Centre:
Daniel Hagley (MPBA)


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.